Neutral Contact

Discussion in 'Leading' started by prga1640, Feb 28, 2017.

1. prga1640

prga1640 CAMELIDynamics Senior Consultant

My name is Robert Applegate, I am a CameliDynamics Senior Consultant, and when I read Marty's article on 'slacklead' vs. 'Neutral Contact', I e-mailed Marty the following dissertation, along with two videos demonstrating 'light contact', she has asked me to post these. The videos are rather raw, and the dissertation rambles a bit, but the point is this (for me): When I am with an animal and I have them on a lead - it is MY responsibility to be aware of their actions and safety, thus I attempt to maintain 'light contact' AT ALL TIMES. This way I know of any activity by the animal within a 6 inch parameter, and can pre-empt, or allow the activity, with a very small movement of my 'working fingers'. I do not hold the lead in my fist, I drop the lead over the top of my 'working fingers' and in between my 'holding fingers' of my 'working hand' so all I have to do to affect my trained animal is crook my 'working fingers' in a 'Please come to me' motion or 'please stand' lift and they usually respond by balancing themselves, taking a breath, and responding to my signal.
    I hope my dialogue and videos are of use to all that wish to do the 'Alpaca Waltz', where you and your animal glide across the pen like satin using your imperceptible, clear signals with your 'partner' and your 'partner's' imperceptible yet clear response. It's really beautiful to watch a handler and their 'partner' glide.

Here is my dissertation to Marty, I was not able to upload any of the videos - files were too large.
    Marty: